It is with great pleasure that I announce that four of our members have stepped up to give their time and energy to serve on the network’s new Executive Committee.

I am sure you will all join me in welcoming Denise Woods and Nadia Rhook from Perth and Sukhmani Khorana and Tim Steains from Sydney who have been facilitating the meetups in their respective cities and have enlivened these pages with their posts and interventions.

As you know, since its inception, Tseen Khoo, Olivia Khoo and Dean Chan have steered the course of the network to create a field and a space for Asian Australian work. AASRN has had a long and happy innings under their able stewardship, guided by the vision of our Chair, Jacqueline Lo.

As we welcome our new Executive Committee members, I would like to acknowledge the immense labour of passion and politics that the previous Executive Committee undertook: it is no mean feat to keep such a diverse and eclectic gathering of artists, activists, academics going for a decade, in such a spirit of collegiality and comradeship.

Going forward, I am hoping that we will be able to garner the support of Executive Committee members from other parts of Australia too, to join these new four. I am mindful that this is a voluntary commitment with no remuneration attached to it, and it is through the efforts of such members that the network continues its formal work of making administrative decisions and organising the biennial conferences.

We will also be looking to putting together a wider Advisory Board to help us float new initiatives and create/respond to emerging trends in Asian Australian research. The Advisory Board will be composed of groups whose aims and interests align with those of AASRN’s. More of that later.

Meanwhile, welcome Denise Woods, Nadia Rhook, Sukhmani Khorana and Tim Steains!

Mridula Chakraborty, Convenor, AASRN